Meet Shop Manager Jason Schettler

Jason Schettler is a Shop Manager at our Nashville branch. Jason has been with Star for over seven years, and we’re lucky to have someone like him on the team!

Keep reading to learn more about Shop Manager, Jason Schettler!

How long have you been working at Star? What’s your favorite part of the job?
I’ve been at Star for seven years. I enjoy the family atmosphere at our branch.

Who inspires you?
My wife. She recently went back to school to become an X-Ray tech and has moved up to MRI. She has inspired me to meet my potential.

What is something people may not know about you? Do you have a secret talent?
I grew up around music and have played musical instruments from an early age!

What is your favorite TV show? Who’s your favorite character and why?
I enjoy “What We Do in the Shadows.” Lazlo is great–he’s a bit crude, but has a good heart.

Do you have a favorite movie line/quote?
“If I woke up in the morning with my head sewed to the carpet I wouldn’t be more surprised.”

What are your hobbies? What do you like to do in your free time?
I like to spend time with the family just doing typical things. I enjoy making good memories for my kids.

How are you ensuring work safety?
I like to create a family-type atmosphere so that we all understand we’re in this together.

What are three words you would use to describe Star?
Professional, dependable, and knowledgeable.

What is the best place you’ve traveled to and why?
Anna Maria Island. I love the beach and this place is not a tourist trap.

If you had to eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?
I’m a steak and potatoes kind of guy.

What music genre do you like to listen to?
I like all music genres, but if I had to pick one, it would be Blues music.

How do you define success?
If you take pride in your work and are honest in all that you do, good things will follow.

If given a chance, who would you want to be for a day?
I would want to be my son. I’m curious how he sees the world. Being that he has Down Syndrome, his outlook on life probably differs from the typical person. I would like to spend a day at a hockey game.

Dog or cat person?
I am partial to dogs. We take dogs from a local sanctuary called Old Friends and we have two at this time. One is blind named Bella, and the other acts as her “seeing-eye dog” named Ryker. Old Friends is a senior dog sanctuary and they take care of old dogs who don’t typically get adopted from dog shelters.

Favorite tradition?
Going to Anna Maria Island every year.

If you could learn to do anything, what would it be?
I’ve always been interested in learning the piano.

Where are you from?
I’m originally from Knoxville, but I grew up in Nashville.